Home page Rocket Kitchen

North Island Club Championships Wrap

  • 09 Feb 15

The North Island Club Championships was raced over three days, with nearly 800 rowers representing 30 clubs. Results at this regatta gave North Island crews a good indication on where they are placed just over a week out from the Bankstream New Zealand Rowing Championships.

In the premier events Mahe Drysdale was hot on the trot after taking his first win in domestic competition at the Cambridge Town Cup regatta two weeks ago. Drysdale won the men’s premier single scull by the narrowest of margins, with only 0.6 second separating the medalists. Drysdale took the gold in 6:58.46, Robbie Manson won the silver and Hamish Bond the bronze. Zoe Stevenson won the women’s premier single scull.

Under-23 world champions Kerri Gowler and Grace Prendergast took the championship title in the women’s premier pair, winning gold in 6:55.91. Genevieve Behrent and Rebecca Scown had to settle for silver just over four seconds back. Bronze was won by Kayla Pratt and Holly Greenslade.

The summer squad lightweight men's rowers contested the men's premier pair, with James Hunter and James Lassche picking up the North Island title after successfully winning the South Island title last weekend. Curtis Rapley and Alistair Bond were home for silver, while heavyweight summer squad rowers Alex Bardoul and Michael Brake claimed bronze.

Lucy Spoors and Sarah Gray claimed the victory in the women’s premier double scull in a time of 7:05.95 over lightweights Julia Edward and Sophie MacKenzie. Bronze was won by Erin-Monique O’Brien and Brooke Donoghue. In the men’s premier double scull Robbie Manson and Jade Uru won the Gold, while silver went to Chris Harris and George Bridgewater and bronze to Karl Manson and John Storey.

Aramoho Wanganui won the Club Coxed Four in 7:17.87, well ahead of second place getters West End Rowing Club, bronze went to Hamilton Rowing Club.

Cambridge Rowing Club had the home advantage winning the men’s novice coxed four in 6:44.92 over two Waikato Rowing Club crews.

The women’s senior single was won convincingly by Auckland Rowing Club’s Ellyce Stehlin in 7:54.51. While in the men’s senor single event Aramoho Wanganui’s Luke Watts won Gold.

North Shore Rowing Club fronted in the women’s novice double sculls with Michelle Murphy and Kirsty la Roux taking the Gold. Silver went to Cambridge Rowing Club and Bronze to another North Shore crew. Also in the novice eights Waikato Rowing Club won the women’s race while a Waikato Composite eight won the men’s event.

For further results from the North Island Championships please see RowIT