Home page Rocket Kitchen

2019 University trans-Tasman Regatta

  • 10 Jul 19

The University Trans Tasman regatta concluded at Lake Karapiro on Friday 5 July, with the Australian universities taking out the series 5 – 2. 

The New Zealand women’s eight won both of the 2000m races, but the Melbourne University based crew put on an early challenge in the 5000m race and pushed out to win the final race by just over 30 seconds. The New Zealand women’s eight was made up of rowers from Auckland University of Technology, Canterbury University, Otago University and Waikato University, and coached by David Neuhaus.

The Australian men’s team from Sydney University were too fast for the New Zealand crew winning the series 3 – 0. Sydney has been a regular participant in this event over the last 10 years and has become a great competitor in New Zealand. After a dominant display in the first 2000m race, the New Zealand crew was able to hang on to the Australian crew for the first 1100m, before the Sydney crew pushed out to a length lead and maintained that distance until the finish line. Like the women’s race, the Kiwi crew was challenged early in the race and couldn’t quite hold on.

Points are awarded for each win in the series. The team with the overall most points across all races wins the overall series. Medals are awarded to the overall winner of the women’s and men’s series.

In 2020, the event will be held in Australia. Information on how to be part of this team will be available in the 2020 High Performance Guidelines. 

A World University Rowing Championships will be held in Zagreb, Croatia in 2020.