Home page Rocket Kitchen

2019 University trans-Tasman Regatta

  • 01 Jul 19

This week Rowing NZ host Melbourne University (women) and Sydney University (men) for the 2019 University trans-Tasman Regatta taking place 2-5 July at Lake Karapiro.

Tuesday and Wednesday's racing is over a 2000m course, while Friday's racing is held over 5000m.

The annual event contests two selected New Zealand crews and the winning crews of the women and men's eights from the Australian University Rowing Championships. With only eights competing, the regatta location alternates between New Zealand and Australia. Australia has won the regatta for the last two years.

New Zealand athletes are selected at a trial held the day after the Aon University Rowing Championships.