Home page Rocket Kitchen

Waikato Double Strike

  • 12 Apr 19

Today at the 2019 Aon New Zealand University Rowing Championships the University of Waikato retained the Tamaki Cup and Hebberley Shield after clear wins of both the women’s and men’s championship eights at Lake Karapiro. For the second year in a row, strong Waikato crews have won both races.

The Waikato women’s crew finished an impressive 24 seconds ahead of Otago University’s number one crew, with the University of Auckland taking the bronze a further 17 seconds back. Waikato took the early lead and pushed away for the remainder of the race.

The men’s race was a similar result with Waikato edging out Otago and The University of Canterbury finishing third. Waikato got out to a two length lead over Otago until the 1000m mark, where Otago pushed back to within one length of Waikato. In the end Waikato was 12 seconds ahead.