Home page Rocket Kitchen

New Zealand takes Silver and Bronze on final day of World Rowing Championships

  • 16 Sep 18
The Women’s Double Sculls wins Silver and the Men’s Double Sculls takes home Bronze amongst incredibly tough competition in Plovdiv, Bulgaria today.

With the Women’s Pair taking Silver yesterday, New Zealand’s medal tally now sits at three.

Women’s Double Sculls (W2X)A final

Olivia Loe and Brooke Donoghue of New Zealand took Silver in the A final of the Women’s Double Sculls, with Lithuania taking Gold and the US taking Bronze. Lithuania were in the lead from the 1000 mark with Loe and Donoghue battling for second place and the Silver medal with the US. New Zealand maintained their lead on the US and crossed the line at 6:46.

Men’s Double Sculls (M2X)A final

New Zealand’s Chris Harris and John Storey take home Bronze in the Men’s Double Sculls after an incredible race to the finish in the A final. France takes Gold after holding the lead position from the start and Switzerland takes Silver after crossing the line .30 of a second ahead of Harris and Storey.

Men’s Single Sculls (M1X)A final

New Zealand’s Robbie Manson ranks fifth in the world after the Men’s Single Sculls final. Norway’s Kjetil Borch took Gold, Czech Republic’s Ondrej Synek took Silver and Lithuania’s Mindaugas took Bronze.

Women’s Eight (W8+) – B final

The New Zealand Women’s Eight of Kelsey Bevan, Kelsi Walters, Emma Dyke, Beth Ross, Jackie Gowler, Lucy Spoors, Kelsi Parker, Ella Greenslade and coxswain Sam Bosworth lead their B final from the start and took first place in a time of 6:01. New Zealand narrowly missed out on the A final by .16 of a second in their repechage.

Women’s Single Sculls (W1X) – B final

New Zealand’s Hannah Osborne faced Lithuania, Canada, Sweden, Australia and Ukraine in the B final of the Women’s Single Sculls. Australia’s Madeleine Edmunds maintained the lead from the 500 mark and crossed the line ahead of second place Osborne.

Men’s Eight (M8+) – B final

The New Zealand Men’s Eight of Phillip Wilson, Brook Robertson, Martyn O’Leary, Cameron Webster, Shaun Kirkham, Isaac Grainger, James Lassche, Stephen Jones and coxswain Caleb Shepherd placed third in their B final, with the Netherlands in first and Canada in second.

All regatta information including results, race information and photographs can be found at www.worldrowing.com