Home page Rocket Kitchen

2018 World Rowing U23 Championships

  • 25 Jul 18

New Zealand's U23 Team departed for Poznan, Poland on 13 July to contest the World Rowing U23 Championships 25-29 July.

Popularity in U23 rowing continues to grow with the 2018 World Rowing U23 Championships attracting nearly 900 rowers from 55 nations.

The championship is being hosted by Poznan, Poland at the well-known Malta regatta course in the heart of the city.

This year sees a small change in the boat classes as World Rowing has moved to gender equality for all championship events. The change means that the number of boat classes moves from 21 to 22. The best represented women’s boat class is the women’s double sculls with entries coming from 21 nations.The men’s single sculls has a large field with rowers from 28 nations participating.

The World Rowing Under 23 Championships is raced in 22 boat classes and is open to all World Rowing Federation (FISA) member nations for rowers under the age of 23. The under-23s began in 1976 as the ‘Seniors Match’ and then the name was changed to the ‘Nations Cup’ before becoming the World Rowing Under 23 Championships in 2005.

For entries, timetable, full reports, live audio streaming, live results, live blogging as well as video streaming go to www.worldrowing.com

New Zealand’s U23 Team:

Women’s Single Scull

Sam Voss (Waikato RPC, Cambridge RC)

Matt Cameron (coach)

Lightweight Women's Single Scull

Courtney Rennie (Waikato RPC, Tauranga RC)

Matt Cameron (coach)

Women’s Double Scull

Nicola Baker (Central RPC, Aramoho-Whanganui RC)

Luka Ellery (Waikato RPC, Te Awamutu RC)

Matt Cameron (coach)

Women’s Coxless Pair

Ruby Willis (Central RPC, Petone RC)

Laura Glen (Southern RPC, Avon RC)

Bruce Jones (coach)

Women’s Coxless Four

Charlotte Spence (Auckland RPC, Auckland RC)

Catherine Layburn (Auckland RPC, North Shore RC)

Davina Waddy (Southern RPC, Canterbury RC)

Kate Haines (Auckland RPC, Auckland RC)

Bruce Jones (coach)

Women's Reserve Single Scull

Jemma James (Auckland RPC, West End RC)

Bruce Jones (coach)

Men’s Lightweight Double Scull

Christopher Stockley (Auckland RPC, West End RC)

Issac Everitt (Auckland RPC, St Georges RC)

John O’Connor (coach)

Men’s Coxless Four

Thomas Russel (Southern RPC, Avon RC)

Tom Mackintosh (Southern RPC, Canterbury RC)

Matt MacDonald (Auckland RPC, Auckland RC)

Daniel Williamson (Auckland RPC, Auckland RC)

Tom Stannard (coach)

Men’s Coxed Four

Ben Taylor (Southern RPC, Avon RC)

Sam Jones (Auckland RPC, North Shore RC)

Ed Laver (Southern RPC, Canterbury RC)

Angus McFarlane (Central RPC, Blenheim RC)

Natalie Bocock (cox) (Southern RPC, Avon RC)

Tom Stannard (coach)

Men’s Quad

Jack O’Leary (Central RPC, Picton RC)

Jonathan Kumarich (Auckland RPC, West End RC)

Corbin Porteous (Central RPC, Clifton RC)

George Howat (Southern RPC, Canterbury RC)

John O’Connor (coach)

Team Manager

Lisa Holton