Home page Rocket Kitchen

Drysdale finalist for New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment Award

  • 16 Jan 17

Mahe Drysdale's gold-medal winning race in Rio has been announced as one of ten sporting highlights from 2016 for New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment Award, the only category that is selected by the public at the 54th Halberg Awards.

The sporting moment award gives the New Zealand public the opportunity to choose the nation’s most exciting, remarkable, or compelling sporting moment, game or series in 2016. Highlights from the Rio Paralympics and Olympics along with moments from cricket, rugby, motorsport and boxing all feature in the shortlist.

The full list of Sporting Moment of the Year finalists are:

  • Brendon McCullum – world record century in 54 balls during his final test for the Black Caps (Black Caps vs. Australia, Hagley Oval, Christchurch).
  • Luuka Jones – winning New Zealand’s first ever canoe slalom medal, earning silver at the Rio Olympics (K-1 Canoe Slalom, Rio Olympics, Rio de Janeiro).
  • Mahe Drysdale – secures a gold medal with his final rowing stroke at the Rio Olympics (Men’s Single Scull, Rio Olympics, Rio de Janeiro).
  • Lisa Carrington – winning her second medal at the 2016 Rio Olympics, making her the first New Zealand female to win two medals at the same Olympics (Woman’s K-1 500m, Rio Olympics, Rio de Janeiro).
  • Eliza McCartney – winning the bronze medal with her final pole vault attempt at the Rio Olympics. (4.80m, woman’s pole vault, Rio Olympics, Rio de Janeiro).
  • Nikki Hamblin – helping fellow competitor Abbey D’Agostino to her feet mid-race (Woman’s 5000 metre heat, Rio Olympics, Rio de Janeiro).
  • Liam Malone – winning two gold and a silver medal at his first Paralympics (Rio Paralympics, Rio de Janeiro).
  • All Blacks - setting the new record for most consecutive test wins with 18 straight victories (All Blacks vs Wallabies, Bledisloe Cup, Auckland).
  • Shane van Gisbergen – First New Zealander in 25 years to win the V8 Supercar Championship. (Sydney 500, V8 Supercar Championship, Sydney).
  • Joseph Parker – claiming the WBO World Heavy Weight Championship belt – (Parker vs. Ruiz, Auckland).

The public can vote for their choice once a day by text message or online at www.sportingmoments.co.nz. The winner will be presented at the 54th Halberg Awards on Thursday 9 February 2017 at Vector Arena in Auckland and televised live on SKY SPORT from 8pm.

The finalists were selected by a panel of media representatives who compiled the list of great sporting moments from 2016 for the public to vote on.

“This award gives the sport fan an opportunity to recognise New Zealand athletes who may have inspired them, left them in awe or equally made them proud to be a New Zealander,” says Shelley McMeeken, Chief Executive of the Halberg Disability Sport Foundation.

Everyone who votes for the Sporting Moment before 30 January 2017 goes in the draw to win a trip for two including flights and accommodation to the 54th Halberg Awards at Vector Arena, Auckland on Thursday 9 February 2017. Visit www.sportingmoments.co.nz to read the competition terms & conditions.

How to vote:

Voting is now open for the Sporting Moment of the Year award. You can vote once a day from now until 9.00pm on Thursday 9 February 2017.

1. Online

Vote at www.sportingmoments.co.nz

2. TXT

Text your Sporting Moment’s unique code to 595:

  • 1.Txt Sm1 to 595to vote for Brendon McCullum

2.Txt Sm2 to 595to vote for Luuka Jones

  • 3.Txt Sm3 to 595 to vote for Mahe Drysdale
  • 4.Txt Sm4 to 595 to vote for Lisa Carrington
  • 5.Txt Sm5 to 595 to vote for Eliza McCartney
  • 6.Txt Sm6 to 595 to vote for Nikki Hamblin

7.Txt Sm7 to 595 to vote for Liam Malone

8.Txt Sm8 to 595 to vote for All Blacks

9.Txt Sm9 to 595 to vote for Shane van Gisbergen

Txt Sm10 to 595 to vote for Joseph Parker