Home page Rocket Kitchen

Olympic boats feature in World Rowing Cup III entries

  • 09 Jun 16

The third World Rowing Cup of the 2016 season will be raced in Poznan, Poland and represents the last chance for athletes to test themselves against their competitors before the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

The field has narrowed slightly compared to previous World Cups as nations focus on sending crews that will make up their Olympic boats. Forty-eight countries will be represented with 584 athletes competing. This includes four para-rowing boat classes.

The men's single sculls tops the list of most entries and has 30 scullers taking part including the hottest men’s scullers; reigning Olympic Champion Mahe Drysdale, defending World Champion Ondrej Synek (CZE) and European Champion Damir Martin (CRO) . The women's single sculls is the next largest and sees 24 entries including 2014 World Champion, Emma Twigg meeting reigning World Champion Kim Brennan of Australia. This much-anticipated meet-up will be the first time Brennan and Twigg have raced each other since the 2014 World Rowing Championships. The 1996 and 2000 Olympic Champion, Ekaterina Karsten of Belarus will also be lining up along with the reigning Olympic Champion, Mirka Knapkova of the Czech Republic.

Silver medallists from World Rowing Cup II Rebecca Scown and Genevieve Behrent feature in the women's pair, alongside Great Britain's Heather Stanning and Helen Glover, who have come back following their withdrawal due to illness from World Rowing Cup II.

The lightweight men’s four will also be hotly contested after the upset defeat of the Swiss by New Zealand at World Cup II two weeks ago.

New Zealand are currently sitting third in the World Rowing Cup Series, behind The Netherlands and Great Britain, having only contested one of the two regattas so far.

The largest team is coming from Germany with 58 athletes competing in 20 of the 26 boat classes.

Racing begins on Thursday 16 June 2016 at 18:00 CET with heats for the para-rowing boat classes. It then moves through to International and para-rowing finals on Saturday 18 June followed by Olympic boat class finals on Sunday 19 June starting at 10:33 CET.

There will be live video streaming of the Olympic A-finals on www.worldrowing.com.

Regatta information and the full entry list can be found here .

The World Rowing Cup series was launched in 1997 and consists of a series of three events. The overall World Rowing Cup winners are determined after the third event. This year, the three stages of the series are Varese, ITA (15-17 April), Lucerne, SUI (27-29 May) and Poznan, POL (16-19 June).