Home page Rocket Kitchen

Men’s pair finalist for Halbergs

  • 07 Jan 16

The finalists have been announced for the 53rd Halberg Awards with men’s pair, Hamish Bond and Eric Murray shortlisted in the Team of the Year category. The Awards celebrate New Zealand's sporting achievements for the 2015 calendar year. A total of 24 finalists have been named in six categories at the Halberg Awards.

The winners of the Sportsman, Sportswoman, Disabled Sportsperson and Team of the Year award categories will be eligible for the top honour - the supreme Halberg Award.

Supreme Halberg Award holders from 2015, Hamish Bond and Eric Murray are in line to defend the top honour again. The men’s pair is shortlisted for the Microsoft Surface Team of the Year against two other world title holders; the All Blacks and Men’s 49er crew of Peter Burling and Blair Tuke. The BLACKCAPS – New Zealand’s first men’s team to reach the Cricket World Cup final – round out the category.

The finalists were selected by the Halberg Awards judges, made up of former athletes, coaches and sports journalists, who reviewed 63 nominations submitted for the six categories.

The winners will be presented at the 53 rd Halberg Awards on Thursday 18 February at Vector Arena in Auckland and televised live on SKY SPORT.