Home page Rocket Kitchen

Rowing features in Halberg nominations

  • 15 Dec 15

The Halberg Disability Sport Foundation has today announced the nominations for the 53 rd Halberg Awards – the nation’s pre-eminent event to honour and celebrate sporting achievements by New Zealand teams and athletes in 2015. The Halberg Trust received 63 nominations with a total of nine Rowing New Zealand nominations - eight New Zealand Rowing crews and New Zealand Rowing coach Gary Hay.

Current supreme Halberg Award winners Hamish Bond and Eric Murray are in line to defend the top honours again. The Men’s Pair are up for the Microsoft Surface Team of the Year alongside four other New Zealand Rowing crews: Zoe Stevenson and Eve Macfarlane from the world champion women’s double scull, Kerri Gowler and Grace Prendergast world silver medallists in both the pair and the eight, Julia Edward and Sophie Mackenzie, world champions in the women's lighweight double and the women’s eight crew who won silver at the World Championships. The team category will also be hotly contested by teams such as the All Blacks, New Zealand Breakers, Blackcaps and the 49er crew of Peter Burling and Blair Tuke.

World champion and world best time holder, Zoe McBride is nominated in the High Performance Sport Sportswoman of the Year while world silver medallist in the single scull, Mahe Drysdale and world champion in the lightweight men’s single, Adam Ling are nominated in the High Performance Sport Sportsman of the Year.

Gary Hay, coach of four gold medal winning crews in 2015 is nominated for the Coach of the Year Award after his remarkable year.

Nominations will now go to the Halberg Awards judges which includes former athletes, coaches and sports journalists. The judges will review the achievements submitted to decide the finalists which will be announced in early January 2016.

Ten awards are presented at the 53 rd Halberg Awards which will be held on Thursday 18 February 2016 at Vector Arena in Auckland and televised live on SKY SPORT.