Home page Rocket Kitchen

Australia Retains Rusty Robertson Trophy

  • 26 Aug 17

This morning saw the end of the Under 21 Trans Tasman Regatta, with Australia retaining the Rusty Robertson Trophy for 2017. New Zealand however, did not go down without a fight.

Both the men’s and women’s eights finished their regatta on a high with consecutive wins in the final. The girls showed dominance with a convincing 9 second win over their Australian counterparts. The boys race was much tighter, but the Kiwi crew managed to hold on for the win by 0.3 of a second, an incredible effort after finishing 5 seconds down in the heat.

The girls sweep dominated both the coxless pair and four with wins in both events. As did the lightweights - with Sophie Egnot-Johnson winning gold the women's lightweight single, and then combining with James Brott in the mixed lightweight double sculls to get another win over the Australians.

However despite best efforts the Australian team were still able to hold on to the Rusty Robertson Trophy, retaining the title from 2016.

Full results are available on RowIT

Points for racing were awarded in the finals as follows:

1. 1st - 6 points, 2nd - 4 points, 3rd - 2 points, 4th - 1 point for W1x, M1x, W2-, M2-

2. 1st - 6 points, 2nd - 4 points for LM2x, LW2x, M4-, W4-, M8+, W8+

3. 1st - 2 points and 2nd - 1 point for LW1x, LM1x, MixL2x

2017 Under 21 Rowing Team

Men's Coxless Pair:

Ruben Houghton, Angus McFarlane

Fergus McSwiney, Cameron Steedman

Women's Coxless Pair:

Ruby Willis, Ellen Schroeder

Ella Simanu, Catherine Layburn

Women's Lightweight Double:

Grace Shaw, Georgia Keech

Men's Lightweight Double:

Jordan Gasson, Joseph Graham

Women's Single Scull:

Alice Grave

Jessica Turfrey

Men's Single Scull:

Jonathan Kumarich

Jared van Vianen

Travelling Reserves:

Women's: Sophie Egnot-Johnson

Men's: James Brott


Men's: Natalie Bocock

Women's: Lucy Bird


Kaye Surgenor

Josh Schmidt

Steve Wills

Team Manager:

Megan Liddy