Home page Rocket Kitchen

Kiwis take on World Rowing Cup II in Poznan

  • 14 Jun 17

Rowing New Zealand’s Elite team begin their 2017 international campaign on Friday at the World Rowing Cup II in Poznan, Poland.

Their first foray into international competition since the Rio 2016 Olympic Games will see the new-look New Zealand team take on the world’s best on Lake Malta.

The New Zealand team boasts a mix of new and proven talent and the regatta will be a chance for the sport’s rising stars to take the spotlight following the sabbaticals or retirement of several Olympic and world champions.

Robbie Manson will face Rio Olympic silver medallist Damir Martin of Croatia in the men’s single sculls as well as under-23 world champion Tim Ole Naske of Germany.

Matt Dunham, who competed in the medal-winning men’s lightweight four in the 2016 World Cup season, will compete this season as the men’s lightweight single sculler.

Sisters Kerri and Jackie Gowler will be facing each other in the women’s pair event, with Kerri in the number one boat with fellow Olympian Grace Prendergast, and Jackie with newcomer Kirstyn Goodger.

The men’s pair of Tom Murray and Jamie Hunter will not be contesting the regatta due to injury. Cameron Webster and Alex Kennedy are set to take their place in the highly anticipated event following the departure of the unbeatable “kiwi pair” Eric Murray and Hamish Bond.

Olympians Chris Harris and John Storey team up in the men’s double sculls and will no doubt face fierce competition from a mix of competitors including Rio bronze medallists Kjetil Borch and Olaf Tufte of Norway.

Nathan Flannery is joined by 2016 elite reserve Giacomo Thomas and under-23 silver medallists Cameron Crampton and Lewis Hollows in the men’s quad.

Olivia Loe and Brooke Donoghue have been selected as the women’s double sculls combination, while Waikato’s Hannah Osborne will line up in the women’s single sculls.

Former under-23 world champion Jackie Kiddle will line up in the women’s lightweight single sculls in place of lightweight double sculls crewmate Zoe McBride, who is unlikely to be competing in Poznan due to a forearm injury. McBride is expected to resume on-water training next week in preparation for the Henley Royal Regatta.

The men’s and women’s eights are looking to continue their impressive performances. Caleb Shepherd retains his seat as cox for the men’s crew while 23 year old Sam Bosworth takes his place as cox of the women’s crew in a move enacting the recent FISA rule change allowing coxswains of either gender to cox both men’s or women’s crews.

Several European crews are absent from the regatta line up including the entire Romanian team, who were dominant in the women’s pair, four and eight at the recent European Championships in the Czech Republic, while Canada and the US men’s eight are also not competing. A heavy presence of Chinese crews will also ensure some fierce competition.

The regatta begins with heats on Friday 16 June, and concludes on Sunday 18 June.

Live results, entries, and regatta schedule can be found at www.worldrowing.com

Live coverage of finals on SKY TV (NZ) – see planner for more details.

Rowing New Zealand Elite Team 2017

To contest World Rowing Cup II, Poznan, Poland

16 – 18 June 2017

Men’s Single Scull

Robbie Manson (Central RPC, Wairau RC)

Noel Donaldson (coach)

Men’s Lightweight Single Scull

Matthew Dunham (Waikato RPC, Cambridge RC)

Calvin Ferguson (coach)

Men’s Coxless Pair

Cameron Webster (Auckland RPC, North Shore RC)

Alex Kennedy (Waikato RPC, Te Awamutu RC)

Noel Donaldson (coach)

Men’s Double Scull

Chris Harris (Central RPC, Aramaho Wanganui RC)

John Storey (Southern RPC, Avon RC)

Calvin Ferguson (coach)

Men’s Coxless Quad

Lewis Hollows (Auckland RPC, West End RC)

Cameron Crampton (Southern RPC, Timaru RC)

Nathan Flannery (Southern RPC, Union Christchurch RC)

Giacomo Thomas (Auckland RPC, Hawkes Bay RC)

Mike Rodger (coach)

Men’s Coxed Eight

Drikus Conradie (Waikato RC, Waikato RC)

Brook Robertson (Central RPC, Nelson RC)

Isaac Grainger (Auckland RPC, Auckland RC)

Shaun Kirkham (Waikato RPC, Waikato RC)

Anthony Allen (Waikato RPC, Waikato RC)

James Lassche (Southern RPC, Avon RC)

Patrick McInnes (Waikato RPC, Hawkes Bay RC)

Stephen Jones (Auckland RPC, West End RC)

Caleb Shepherd (cox) (Waikato RPC, Waikato RC)

Gary Roberts (coach)

Women’s Double Scull

Olivia Loe (Southern RPC, Avon RC)

Brooke Donoghue (Waikato RPC, Waikato RC)

James Coote (coach)

Women’s Single Scull

Hannah Osborne (Waikato RPC, Te Awamutu RC)

James Coote (coach)

Women’s Coxless Pair

Kerri Gowler (Central RPC, Aramoho Wanganui RC)

Grace Prendergast (Southern RPC, Avon RC)

Gary Hay (coach)

Women’s Coxless Pair 2

Kirstyn Goodger (Central RPC, Wairau RC)

Jackie Gowler (Central RPC, Aramoho Wanganui RC)

Lightweight Women’s Single Scull

Jackie Kiddle (Central RPC, Star BC)

Gary Hay (coach)

Women’s Coxed Eight

Georgia Perry (Waikato RPC, Cambridge RC)

Emma Dyke (Southern RPC, Timaru RC)

Lucy Spoors (Southern RPC, Canterbury RC)

Rebecca Scown (Central RPC, Union Wanganui)

Kelsi Walters (Auckland RPC, Auckland Grammar RC)

Kelsey Bevan (Auckland RPC, Counties Manukau RC)

Ruby Tew (Central RPC, Star BC)

Ashlee Rowe (Auckland RPC, North Shore RC)

Sam Bosworth (cox) (Southern RPC, Avon RC)

Dan Kelly (coach)

Team Manager

Jan Taylor