Home page Rocket Kitchen

University champions crowned

  • 16 Apr 17

A sensational day of racing concluded the 2017 Aon University Championships on Lake Hood, Ashburton today.

After a day of frantic heats yesterday, today’s rain didn’t dampen the spirits of crews chasing medals across novice, intermediate, tournament and championship grade racing.

Joshua Earl and Fergus McSwiney of the University of Waikato decimated the field in the men’s championship pair, winning in a time of 7:15.66, an impressive 12 seconds ahead of Otago University’s number two crew of Simon Early and Sam Johnston and number one crew of Scott and Todd Bezzett who had to settle for bronze.

Massey University’s Anna Delong and Taryn Able won the women’s championship pair title in convincing style, while Otago University’s Karley Wilden-Palms and Juliette Alm-Lequeux secured silver. Maysie Scott and Sydney Telfer, also of Otago University snatched bronze.

Lincoln University’s Alice Grave claimed the women’s championship single sculls crown, with Grace Shaw and Juliette Alm-Lequeux, both of Otago University, taking silver and bronze.

It was a North Island dominated podium in the men’s championship single sculls event with the University of Waikato’s Joshua Earl taking line honours, followed by Jonathan Kumarich of the University of Auckland and James Brott also of Waikato.

While Otago University collected the win in the men’s intermediate coxed four there was a tight tussle for second and third. The University of Auckland just nudged out Canterbury University by 0.4 seconds for silver and bronze respectively with the top five crews all crossing the line within ten seconds of the winner.

Georgia Keech of AUT University took out the women’s intermediate single sculls win and then teamed up with Zoe Winks to earn her second gold medal of the day in the women’s intermediate double sculls.

Tyler Harrison, Steven Tour, Dom Kay, John Yang and cox Liam Avery notched up the University of Auckland’s first win of the regatta in the men’s tournament coxed four. Auckland’s second gold medal went to Zak Everitt and Jonathan Kumarich in the men’s championship pair.

The novice grade also showcased some fantastic racing with an overjoyed Canterbury University crew winning the novice men’s eight, while a number of the same crew also competed in the men’s tournament eight where they also won gold.

After an impressive regatta Otago University were announced the overall points winner.

Full results can be viewed at www.rowit.co.nz

Thumbnail photo credit: Steve McArthur - Rowing Celebrations